Eat, Drink & Be Happy



A Blog for Vegetarians and Students on a Budget

Eat, Drink and Be Happy is a blog documenting my experience as a vegetarian college student living on a budget.

A born and bred Iowa farm girl, meat has always been a staple in my diet. It is the star of every Thomsen family dinner, and my favorite meal back home is the twelve-ounce prime rib from a local restaurant. However, that is about to change.

With recent information published about the health implications of eating too much animal protein and byproducts and coming to the realization that I rarely eat meat, I have decided to experience the vegetarian lifestyle.

In order to feel secure in this decision, research was in order. The American Dietetic Association (ADA) maintains that a vegetarian diet is healthful and nutritionally adequate when appropriately planned. The ADA also states that vegetarian diets are linked to a lower risk of heart disease, as well as lower cholesterol levels, blood pressure and rates of hypertension.

Through research, I learned there are four types of vegetarianism:

  • Vegan: no consumption of any animal products
  • Lacto vegetarian: consumes dairy products
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarian: consumes dairy products and eggs
  • Flexitarian (semivegetarian): occasionally consumes small amounts of meat

I decided the lacto-ovo vegetarian diet was the best for me.

With this knowledge and the help of the Vegetarian Times’ Vegetarian Starter Kit, I began my experience as a vegetarian. But I needed to go grocery shopping first…

Leave a Reply

